For more than 40 years, Cowles Thompson has been recognized for our legal achievements, contributions to the legal community, and service to our public community.  In 2022, we received recognition from Chambers and Partners for our accomplishments in Commercial Litigation.

In addition, we are fortunate to have a broad range of attorneys who have received honors and recognition from several esteemed sources:

badge martindale hubbell av rated

Martindale-Hubbell AV Preeminent®

This award is given to attorneys who are ranked at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal expertise, communication skills, and ethical standards by their peers. Our AV Preeminent attorneys are:

best lawyers in america

Best Lawyers in America© by Best Lawyers®

Recognized as a “Best Law Firm” in 2023 across 14 practice areas, including Tier 1 for Commercial Litigation.

9 attorneys were selected to the 2023 list of “Best Lawyers,” an honor based entirely on peer review within the same geographical area and legal practice area.

David Metzler was named a 2023 “Lawyer of the Year” for the Dallas-Fort Worth region, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants.

Claire James was included to the 2023 list of “Ones to Watch.”

super lawyers logo

Texas Super Lawyers©

A select group of the top 5-percent of attorneys by region through peer nominations and evaluations, combined with independent research by Thomson Reuters Super Lawyers®. Our 2022 honorees include:

Helen Emerson and Claire James were named to the 2023 list of “Rising Stars.”

d mag best lawyers

D Magazine

This award honors top lawyers in Dallas, as chosen by their peers.  Our 2022 honorees include:

Additional Honors

Lawyer of the Year:  David J. Metzler was named as a 2023 “Lawyer of the Year” for the Dallas-Fort Worth region, in the area of Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants.  David serves as our Managing Shareholder and also as Section Head of the Insurance Litigation practice.  Lawyer of the Year is part of the Best Lawyers® annual honors which are based on peer review.

Woman of Distinction:  Angela Lopez was honored by the Dallas Hispanic Bar Association as a “2022 Woman of Distinction.”  The special recognition highlights Latina lawyers in Dallas.

IADC: Jonathan Spigel joined the International Association of Defense Counsel (IADC) in 2018. Membership is by nomination only. IADC takes a leadership role in many areas of legal reform and professional development.

Top 50 Women Lawyers in Dallas: Angela Lopez was named one of the 2017 Top 50 Women Lawyers in Dallas, Texas by the Texas Diversity Council. This award recognizes women who have not only achieved personal success, but have also made it possible for others to more easily follow in their footsteps.

ABOTA: The American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA) is a national organization of leading trial lawyers and judges dedicated to the preservation of civil jury trials. Sim Israeloff was elected to ABOTA in 2016.

Litigation Counsel of America: This invitation-only organization is a trial lawyer honorary society composed of less than one-half of one percent of American lawyers. Fellows are selected based on excellence and accomplishment in litigation, both at the trial and appellate levels, and for superior ethical reputation. Sim Israeloff was invited to become a Fellow in 2016.

Lions of the Texas Bar: Among numerous achievements, firm co-founder Mr. Jim Cowles was named as one of the “50 Lions of the Texas Bar” by Texas Lawbook in 2015.